2015/2016 – U17

COMPETITIONS: Munster Junior Cup and Cork U17 Cup

MANAGERS: Mr. Croke & Mr. Lordan

CAPTAINs: Rory Doyle & Donagh Gribbon

Munster Junior Cup

03-11-15 – U17 Munster Junior Cup Round 1 – Charleville CBS 3 Rochestown 5 (Rory Doyle 3, David O’Sullivan, Jaze Kabia)

In round one of this year’s Munster Junior Cup, Roco made hard work of beating a Charleville side who played with 10 men for most of the game. After just 10 minutes, Rory Doyle was taken down by the keeper when clear through on goal. The goalkeeper got a red and captain, Rory Doyle dispatched the penalty to put Roco one up. Roco quickly added two more through Doyle again and through a fine finish into the corner from David O’Sullivan. However, just before the break, Roco conceded a penalty themselves which was scored to make it 3-1 at the interval.

From the restart, Charleville pushed hard and were rewarded for their efforts with a fine goal on 50 mins. Almost immediately, Roco broke downfield and after a fine move by substitutes Colin O’Mahony and Adam Hennessy, Jaze Kabia finished neatly to the bottom right to restore Roco’s two goal advantage. Charleville bounced back and on the hour they scored again after some poor Roco defending allowed the Charleville striker in on goal to complete his hat-trick. With then minutes to go, Roco won their second penalty and Doyle converted to complete his hat-trick and leave the scoreline at 5-3 where the game finished up. Man of the Match: Rory Doyle

TEAM: 1. David O’Keeffe (Corrinthians), 2. Patrick Buckley (Corrinthians), 3. Ger O’Mahony (Corrinthians), 4. Daniel Quinlan (Douglas Hall), 5. Conor Russell (Corrinthians), 6. Gordon Walker (Cork City U17), 7. Donagh Gribbon (Corrinthians), 8. Stephen Fox (Corrinthians), 9. David O’Sullivan (Corrinthians), 10. Rory Doyle (Corrinthians), 11. Jaze Kabia (Douglas Hall)

SUBS: 12. Colin O’Mahony (Corrinthians) for 3. O’Mahony, 13. David Nason (Corrinthians) for 8. Fox, 14. Adam Hennessy (Douglas Hall) for 9. O’Sullivan, 15. Diarmuid Cormack for 10. Doyle, 16. Alan Kelliher (Corrinthians), 17. Jack O’Mahony (Carrigaline), 18. Cian Cashman

24-11-15 – U17 Munster Junior Cup Round 2 – Rochestown 5 St Colmans Midleton 4 (Jaze Kabia 2, Adam Hennessy 2, Ross Slevin)

Roco played their first home game of the season against a Colmans side who were dogged and managed to stay in the game despite Roco dominating. Roco were one up on 15 mins when Jaze Kabia finished a neat move involving Donagh Gribbon on the right. However, almost immediately Colmans got an equaliser after a mix up in the Roco defence. Just as the last game, Roco went straight down the pitch and scored two in five minutes, both from Adam Hennessy who was having a terrific game on the left. However, they also conceded one in beyween those two goals so the score now stood at 3-2. Roco went 4-2 up on 35 minutes when Stephen Fox put in a peach of a free kick that was finished well by Jaze Kabia. The goal of the game came just on half time when the impressive Hennessy, Colin O’Mahony and Jaze Kabia combined to set up Ross Slevin from 20 yards who made an unstoppable shot to the top corner to give Roco a 3 goal lead at half time.

The second half was scrappy with Roco dominating the ball but now being asked to work much harder as Colmans pressed well to try get back in the game. Colmans were now looking dangerous without creating chances but did get their reward after a misplaced pass allowed them to make it 5-3 with 15 minutes to go. Colmans scored again with the final kick of the game but it was Roco’s day. Man of the Match: Rory Doyle

TEAM: 1. David O’Keeffe (Corrinthians), 2. Ger O’Mahony (Corrinthians), 3. Colin O’Mahony (Corrinthians), 4. Patrick Buckley (Corrinthians), 5. Conor Russell (Corrinthians), 6. Adam Hennessy (Douglas Hall), 7. Donagh Gribbon (Corrinthians), 8. Stephen Fox (Corrinthians), 9. David O’Sullivan (Corrinthians), 10. Rory Doyle (Corrinthians), 11. Jaze Kabia (Douglas Hall)

SUBS: 13. David Nason (Corrinthians) for 8. Fox, 14. Cian Cashman  for 8.Gribbon, 12. Daniel Quinlan (Douglas Hall), 15. Diarmuid Cormack, 16. Alan Kelliher (Corrinthians), 17. Jack O’Mahony (Carrigaline), 18. Brian Turnbull

%d bloggers like this: